Safe Travel

Between two cultures

Intercultural love is a great adventure that has an impact on the parent we are and on the relationship we create with our children.

 

Cultural differences enrich us as parents but at the same time bring us many challenges.

Raising children abroad

Position yourself and find solutions

When it comes to parenthood and education, each country, each culture has its own habits and ways of doing things. Thus, depending on the culture, we will approach toilet training, time management, school, social life, the question of meals (which is a real subject for us French!) and many other subjects differently.

 

Raising our children in contact with another culture confronts us with questions and issues that often take us by surprise.

 

The situations we face and how we feel as parents sometimes throw us off balance.

 

The language of the country molds the minds of our children, the culture influences their reactions and these can leave us perplexed.

 

I bring listening and finding solutions to the difficulties related to interculturality.

 

Parents from different cultures

During parental coaching for mixed couples, we address the same educational themes from an intercultural angle but also themes specific to the situation, such as the question of language transmission, the cultural or linguistic gap between parents and children, the rejection by our children of certain traits of our culture of origin.

 

I guide parents to make the difference between the cultural conflict which are superimposed on the interpersonal conflicts in their family relations.

 

I support and listen to parents who need to express their feelings about the double culture in which their children are growing up, to take stock of the situation and decide which direction to follow.

Father and Son Playing

What parents say...

Sandrine
Mother of 2 children aged 13 and 15
French-English couple

Thank you Delphine for this precious help. I was able to put my family life in order. Today I feel soothed after struggling for so long. We think we are open-minded, yet accepting the difference hurts sometimes.

Gregory
Father of a 9 year old
French-Swedish couple

We called on Delphine  at a time when our relationship was faltering and our differences in education were leading to conflict upon conflict. Parental coaching has taught us beyond what we had imagined.

Isabella
Mother of 2 children aged 8 and 11
American-Israeli couple

I contacted Delphine after my divorce. I questioned everything, I felt stuck in my life, in this country where my children were born, I was in pain. This coaching allowed me to accept, to let go of certain things and to  focus on the essentials: my relationship with my children.

Safe Travel

Entre deux cultures

Vivre à l'étranger est une grande aventure qui a un impact sur le parent que nous sommes et sur la relation que nous créons avec nos enfants.

 

Les différences culturelles nous enrichissent en tant que parents mais nous apportent en même temps bien des défis à relever.

Elever mes enfants à l'étranger

Se positionner et trouver des solutions

 

En matière de parentalité et d'éducation, chaque pays, chaque culture a ses propres habitudes et ses façons de faire. Ainsi selon la culture on abordera différemment l’apprentissage de la propreté, la gestion du temps, l’école, la vie sociale, la question des repas (qui est un vrai sujet pour nous français!) et bien d'autres sujets.

 

Elever nos enfants au contact d’une autre culture nous met face à des questionnements et des problématiques qui nous prennent souvent au dépourvu.

 

Les situations auxquelles nous sommes confrontés et ce que nous ressentons en tant que parents nous déstabilisent parfois.

 

La langue du pays modèle l’esprit de nos enfants, la culture influe sur leurs réactions et celles-ci peuvent nous laisser perplexes.

 

J’apporte écoute et recherche de solution face aux difficultés liées à l’interculturalité.

 

Parents issus de cultures différentes

 

Lors d’un coaching parental de couple biculturel nous abordons les mêmes thèmes éducatifs sous un angle interculturel mais aussi des thèmes spécifiques à la situation comme par exemple la question de transmission d’une langue, le fossé culturel ou linguistique entre parents et enfants, le rejet par nos enfants de certains traits de notre culture d’origine.

 

J’accompagne les parents pour faire la part des choses car souvent les conflits de cultures se superposent aux conflits interpersonnels dans les relations familiales.

 

J’apporte soutiens et écoute aux parents qui ont besoin d’exprimer ce qu’ils ressentent face à la double culture dans laquelle grandissent leurs enfants, de faire le point et de décider quelle direction suivre.

Father and Son Playing

Les parents témoignent ...

Sandrine
Maman de 2 enfants de 13 et 15 ans
Couple franco-anglais

Merci Delphine pour cette aide si précieuse. J'ai pu mettre de l'ordre dans ma vie familiale. Aujourd'hui je me sens apaisée après avoir luté si longtemps. On se croit ouvert d'esprit pourtant accepter la différence ça fait mal parfois.

Grégory
Papa d'un enfant de 9 ans
Couple franco-suédois

Nous avons fait appel à Delphine  dans un moment où notre couple battait de l'aile et où nos divergences en matières d'éducation amenaient conflits sur conflits. Le coaching parental nous a apporté des enseignement au-delà de ce que nous avions imaginé.

Isabelle
Maman 2 enfants de 8 et 11 ans
Couple franco-américain

J'ai contacté Delphine après mon divorce. Je remettais tout en question, je me sentais coincée dans ma vie, dans ce pays où sont nés mes enfants, j'étais mal. Ce coaching m'a permis d'accepter, de lâcher prise sur certaines choses et de  me concentrer sur l'essentiel: ma relation avec mes enfants.